Pent roof Shed questions.

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by Shaggy, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Shaggy

Shaggy Active Member

Hi, I've never done anything like this before so there may be loads of follow up questions to come:oops:.

I've decided to build my own shed in the garden and I'm planning on roughly 4 metres by 2.5 metres.
    I'm only 5'8" tall so I was thinking the back would be fine at about six foot but what height at the front?
    I'd prefer a pent style roof so what height difference between the front to back should I have for a decent angle for rain to run off without chances of water running back under the felt onto the wood?
    I should say I'll be using Black Jack to stick the felt down so should not have any problems with the water running under but as you know if there is the slightest gap water will find a way.

Also I'm planning on building the base with 3x2 treated decking joists for the floor base stood on 4x4 post "legs" on concrete blocks to keep it off the ground. Does that sound about right? Also how many "legs" would you recommend to support it?

Glen.

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

3. Shaggy

Shaggy Active Member

Thanks Kiab, I've watched all the vid's and they have been a big help, got loads of tips there.
    But they didn't really help with my questions, ie, what height difference from front to back for a pent roof? and how many "legs" for the base of a 4m x2.5m shed?

Glen.

4. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

A 200x50 joist at 400 centres will span 4M.

5. Shaggy

Shaggy Active Member

Sorry chippie, I may have explained it wrong. The front of the shed will be 4 meters wide and the depth 2.5 meters, so the span for the roof will be 2.5 meters.
    So what height difference should I have between the front wall and the back wall to get the right angle?

6. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

I was talking about the floor.

7. 2shortplanks

2shortplanks Active Member