Plastering Course

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by Up4rent, Sep 7, 2005.

1. Up4rent

Up4rent New Member

Have been speaking to the Guys at GoldTrowel today they offer a five day course for about £500 and claim to be able to get you NVQ2 standard by the time you leave, they seem to be highly recommended in the industry and supply most of the learning material that is studied at college.

Anyone out there any experience of this course ot any better suggestions to get into the trade with a reasonable trainer to start earning money

2. Hoskie

Hoskie New Member

I have been plastering for almost two years now. I'm 33 and I am a trained and experienced and very good chef. I was employed in the catering trade since I left college at the nieve age of 19.

To cut a long story short I stumbbled across plastering quite by accident when I purchased my first house two years ago. For love nor money I could not get a plasterer to plaster my kitchen ceiling. I have always been a hands on kind of guy and can make a good job of most things that I turn my hand to.

As luck would have it the restaurant that I worked in was being extended and this involved plastering. I watched the plasterer work for two weeks and picked his brains about how I should plaster my ceiling. After taking on board what he told me I trundled off home and plastered my ceiling. To my surprise I seemed to find it easy and it came natural no me. I then decided to plaste more walls and ceilings in my house, then friends and family started asking me to do work (un paid) for them.