Plunge saws

Discussion in 'Tool Talk' started by Geriko, May 2, 2020.

1. Geriko

Geriko New Member

Hi there,

Looking at the more affordable end of the spectrum plunge saws at the moment and I am wondering if anyone had some good recommendations. We're renovating at the moment and I have a cordless Makita circular saw which I love, but I am looking for something more suited to ripping down some large sheet MDF for some cabinetry.

Slightly concerned some of the cheap models on the market are going to be unreliable / have problems with the quality of the rails.

I have seen you can get some brackets for the circular saw which sort of turn it into a track saw (kreg for example) but again, I've no experience with these and if they're really worth buying).

Advice welcomed

2. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

I have Titan and disabled the kick back. Supplied runner is fine but not great joined to make longer so i plan to buy evolution or maybe festool 1400mm rail as they are all the same design. Look up Peter Millard track saw on YouTube. He demos cheap track saw vs best track saw. Just make sure that whatever saw you get in comparable with other brands of tracks. I cut doors off fine with supplied blade but some get better blade. Depends what your cutting

3. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

I’ve also got the Titan track saw and well happy with it. Have a few different blades depending on what I’m cutting, top blade for me is a 60 tooth Freud blade - astonishingly clean cuts in all materials

As to supplied track, have heard similar problems as yours with misalignment where it joins

I’ve not had a problem with mine and join is seamless when both connectors are tightened up. Maybe your tracks or connectors have had a whack and been bent ?

I’ve also got a spare set of tracks, Triton from SF and these also are 2x700mm tracks (same as Titan tracks) Join on these are fine as well