Potterton Combi HE boiler

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Davie2712, Jan 27, 2022.

1. Davie2712

Davie2712 New Member

Hi All,
    Having some issues with my potterton boiler. Have replaced the diverter valve and heat exchanger as no hot water was being produced and kettling was heard.
    Hot water cam back for a day or two and now gone again.
    On firing up the gas chamber rumbles. I've had the gas chamber of and cleaned as best as. I would assume its the first clean its had since inatallation in 2012. There appears to be brown staining at the bottom of the gas chamber?
    Could the pilot ignition be failing at this stage causing the excess gas to rumble inside the chamber?
    Your help and advice is most appreciated and welcomed.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Bob Rathbone

Bob Rathbone Screwfix Select

I am not a gas engineer but an Electrician. I am deeply concerned that your knowledge of gas appliances is limited and you are embarking on a fix for an old boiler that is clearly spilling over at the bottom of the combustion chamber. To me this is a danger signal for a gas appliance. You mention a pilot light, this again indicates that the boiler is old and not a condenser. My advice, for what it is worth, is forget this old boiler, fit a new condensing combi, even better get it fitted by a Gas Safe engineer and you will then have access to the manufacturers guarantee. What do other members think?

3. jonathanc

jonathanc Guest

I would be surprised if there is a pilot light. The rumbling is likely due to poor combustion I.e incorrect Gas/air mixture. This needs diagnosis and correction and that requires specific equipment to do that. Time for you to call someone in as the previous poster says.

4. Davie2712

Davie2712 New Member