Preparing and painting rusted metal shed

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by Mae West, Apr 15, 2020.

1. Mae West

Mae West New Member

I'm new to this so please excuse the dumbness of my questions.

My new home has a very ugly metal shed which I want to paint. The roof has a lot of superficial rust and there is also superficial rust on the doors. The rest is pretty good.
    I've spent hours online trying to buy oil-based paint which will last but can't find any other than silver or black, neither of which I want.
    It seems there is a lot of paint and primer available in US but not here. There is all kinds of advice and videos but I can't find where to buy what is advised here in UK.

I'd like to strip off the superficial rust.
    Prepare with a suitable anti-rust primer/use suitable two in one paint if available.
    Paint in a colour, maybe blue or white.
    I'd like to be sure the paint will not lift off. Paint I used in Bulgaria which was supposedly OK for metal just lifted off within a year. I'd like a proper external, metal paint which is going to adhere, not lift off, and will not require repainting for a very long time.

I don't have any equipment except a ladder and brushes so need to do all of this by hand.

Be very grateful for advice. Thanks for reading.
    Keep safe.

2. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Look at BEDEC BARN PAINT colours are available and can be mixed although limited choice.

3. Mae West

Mae West New Member

Thank you. I'm going to look into it now.

4. stevie22

stevie22 Screwfix Select

Hammerite is the stuff to use. Loads of colours and smooth finish or hammer effect available.

5. teabreak

teabreak Screwfix Select

Yes Hammerite "direct to rust" would me my choice.

6. Astramax

Astramax Super Member