Preparing existing floor for tiling

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by DIYmakesmerage, Jan 4, 2022.

1. DIYmakesmerage

DIYmakesmerage New Member

Hi everybody,

I was hoping I could get some advice by people with experience of preparing floors before tiling. I am a novice so I am pretty clueless but have been doing some research. I have purchased porcelain tiles 600x600 from Topps Tiles already.
    I am tiling my kitchen floor which is around 7 square metres. Previously, it had sheet vinyl flooring which I have removed, but I am left with a thick sticky glue that has been glued directly to what looks like SLC over the concrete floor.
    This glue is incredible stubborn to remove - I am using a scraper with fresh blades and a heat gun and I can't get it off completely it just leaves a sticky residue. Would I be able to pour over something over the glue prior to using a SLC like a primer of some sort?
    The floor isn't level and has a spot that is 10mm out over a metre long level so I will need to level this prior to tiling. Any tradesman come across this and what is the best solution?
    Many thanks
    Andrew

Attached Files:

2. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

2 coats of SBR over the floor prior to pouring your SLC will do the job and provide a great bond between old and new

Wickes sell a 1lt SBR whilst ‘most’ other places only sell a 5lt unit

Check instructions on tub but likely dilution rate for sealing floor/priming will be 1 SBR to 5 water - so the 1lt size will give you 6lt of sealant so loads !

I’ve used SBR in similair situations to prime over both sticky bitumen and liquid DPM, prior to pouring a SLC

Good luck :)

DIYmakesmerage likes this.
  3. DIYmakesmerage