Previous owner built extension over sewer

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Tantalus, Jul 4, 2021.

1. Tantalus

Tantalus New Member

Ok so, we bought a house almost 2 years ago and have found many of the previous owner's bodge jobs.

The biggest one is that our Utility room has been built on top of the main sewer line of our row of houses (from what I can gather, it's been there at least 10 years, possibly nearer 15) and the main drainage for the Utility room is actually a soak-away. Doesn't work so well when the dishwasher and washing machine are on the go!

So, my questions are:

1) Are Welsh Water (I'm in England but Welsh Water are in charge) going to make me pull the room down if I point this out to them?
    2) If I was to install an inspection point in my utility room would it prevent the above?
    3) Is this a job I can fix myself? I'm a competent DIY plumber and can't seem to find anyone to do the bloody job, I think I should be able to do it myself... assuming I don't get overwhelmed by the smell!

Any advice would be gratefully received!

2. spirits are real 2016

spirits are real 2016 Screwfix Select

What is the lid made off is it a sealed system screwed shut or easy to pull up..and could have gases coming in the room..

3. Tantalus

Tantalus New Member

It was just concreted over, had to dig a hole to find out what a different pipe was doing and found it

4. AnotherTopJob

AnotherTopJob Screwfix Select

Unless I'm missing something, why does the utility room use a soakaway, rather than the main sewer line that's underneath?

5. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Chances are the extension was never applied for let alone signed off as the drainage system would never pass! :eek:......sounds fishy and smells even worse!:cool:

6. Abrickie

Abrickie Screwfix Select

Er 15 years ago it wouldn’t have required a build over agreement, would it ? ;)

7. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select