Push button flush needs 2 pushes to work

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Czar, Jul 31, 2020.

1. Czar

Czar New Member

Hi,

Total novice, so please be patient :)

I have a GROHE push button flush. It always requires 2 pushes to work. The first push feels like there is no "resistance". The second one then seems to find "resistance" and operate the flush.

Not a big deal, but a bit annoying. I am wondering if maybe something isn't fitted properly? I know there are some of these plastic tubes, could they be broken? So air escapes?

Thanks

2. just pumps

just pumps Screwfix Select

Yes that is possible, if you know how to remove the push button then do so and see how tight the plastic tubes are on the spigots (back of button). Should they be easy to remove then one trick is to cut off 5mm and refit the tubes. The other thing is that the bellows inside the flush button can weaken so simply replace the flush button assembly completely if you can`t buy the bellows on their own.

3. Mike58

Mike58 Screwfix Select

Is it a single plate about 200x160? If so, to remove it, you push it to the left about 5mm and then lift the left edge and it will come away.

4. Czar

Czar New Member

I took the plate off. The tube that attaches to the buttons sits tightly. The end of the long tube goes in under the waterline. Doesn't seem to move about there either. The cover looks similar to this...

upload_2020-7-31_12-18-48.png

5. just pumps

That tube that goes under the waterline is attached to the flush valve, treat it with care as it can be a PITA to reattach on some valves.

6. Czar

Czar New Member

I haven't pulled it off. But as it is. below waterline + very hard to reach, I am not sure how to check if their might be a hole somewhere

7. just pumps

Very unlikely to be holed, far more likely to be the bellows now you have checked the tubes on the spigots.

8. kiaora

kiaora Screwfix Select

hi