question about fitting butt hinges

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by HIGHCROFT, Jan 2, 2007.

1. HIGHCROFT

HIGHCROFT Member

what is the best way to fit 3" butt hinges on a internal door .ie is it preferable to rebate hinge into both casing & door -or to do a deeper rebate just on the door ..thanks

2. ShabbaPlanks

ShabbaPlanks Member

House the hinge to both the door and frame/lining, the side of the hinge which has the most knuckles will go onto the frame.
    Check to see how the other doors are fitted, height of hinges and fitting method and try to accomadate this when fitting the new door.
    Good luck

3. yorkshireboy

yorkshireboy Member

I may be in the minority but I only chop hinges into the door.Its how I was shown when I was an apprentice.Many old doors are not housed in the casings so it must be a recent trend.Never had a problem in the 20 years I have been hanging doors with this method.Also I was taught to put the main body of the hinge,with most knuckles,on the door.
    Feel free to disagree...;)

4. foxy

foxy New Member

Feel free to disagree...;)

I think I will. ;)

Double letting hinges into the door can be quicker but the weight of the door is only supported by the screws into the liner and not the leaf of the hinge. You may not have any problems with lightweight doors but is bad practice (IMO of course). Leaf with the outer knuckles goes onto the frame.

5. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

Agree with foxy.

Imagine, if you cut the rebate for the hinge on frame and door tight, you can practically leave the door there with no fixings(for a second or two). The screws are then just needed to keep it in the right place.

Good job well done.

Mr. HandyAndy - really

6. Mr. Handyandy

Mr. Handyandy Screwfix Select

And in most cases, the larger part of a hinge/bracket whatever, will always be fitted to the frame/wall whatever.

So if your hinge has 3 knuckles and 2 knuckles, 3 knuckles to the frame.

Mr. HandyAndy - really