Replace Honeywell T40 with CM907 - is it possible?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Porkpie2310, Mar 25, 2014.

1. Porkpie2310

Porkpie2310 New Member

So, I have a Honeywell T40 which has had the dial broken off and have decided to upgrade it at the same with a programable (7 day ideally) one and have been looking at the CM907 and have questions about the wiring.

The T40 has 3 wires and an earth (see pic) and I want to know if it possible to replace with the CM907?

Details can be found at
    http://www.honeywelluk.com/products...-Digital/CM907-7-Day-Programmable-Thermostat/

The system it will connect to is A A-Class Boilermate SP in the cupboard and an Ideal Icos in the kitchen, not sure if this is needed, I'm no expert....

Any help on this would be very much appreciated
    Paul

Attached Files:

2. Lectrician

Lectrician Screwfix Select

Yes.

On your old one, take the grey (sleeved blue) and put it in a terminal block on its own.

The brown and black can go either way around to terminals A and B.

Your current time clock would need to be turned on to 24hr, or bypassed/removed.

DO NOT be tempted to put the grey (sleeved blue) cable into terminal C!

3. How come I'd have taken two pages to say that... :(

Porkpie, since you do have a Neutral wire available (the blue-sleeved grey wire), you can consider a mains-powered model of Prog Stat instead of that battery one. Does Honeywell make a mains equivalent to the CM907?

The difference is, one is battery powered and t'other, y'know, doesn't need batteries. That's all...

4. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select