Retraining/finding work

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by ash moore, Mar 14, 2019.

1. ash moore

ash moore New Member

Hello plumbers,
    I am a carpenter, I have decided I want to learn something new, and so I am currently doing an evening course In plumbing.
    It seemed logical being as I fit kitchens and bathrooms from time to time, doing basic plumbing myself - outsourcing more complexed matters.

After the course I will have a level 2 diploma in plumbing, which i have been told, will make me a plumbers mate.

I have also been told that I can work towards a level 3 nvq at the same time as doing the diploma.

I can not afford to be paid as a plumbers mate/labourer full time and so, has anyone ever or would anyone consider employing a mate for 1 day per week on a self employed basis?

For this you would get a independent, competent tradesman with van and tools lightening your workload for a knockdown price for the 6months or so it’ll take me to get through the nvq.

Do you think plumbers in Bristol would go for this?

I could be ready to start in a couple of months.

Thanks in advance for you opinions and wisdom.

2. gas monkey

gas monkey Active Member

sounds like a plan he who dares

3. Jord86

Jord86 Well-Known Member

Those courses are not worth the paper they're printed on I'm afraid.

No offence mate but if it's taken you three years or so to qualify as a carpenter and you'll still be green and inexperienced, do you really want to spend another three or four years to become a plumber to find out that you don't like that either, and by then you're close to forty, and still on minimal pay. Irrelevant of that, there's not a plumber I know who would go for your idea, it's a lot easier to have a cheap lad that fetches and carries, and doesn't require supervising when soldering a joint or similar. Without being demeaning, it really isn't a golden ticket that everyone seems to think it is being a tradesman.

longboat likes this.
  4. sospan