Reviews on Screwfix

Discussion in 'Screwfix' started by gpierce, Dec 7, 2018.

1. gpierce

gpierce Active Member

Nothing new but.... does anyone else get annoyed that SF decide to order product reviews on their website from high to low rather than in date order?

Some products are good, some aren't. Some reviews are by trade users who have a different perspective than DIY users, so I want to see the bad and the good. Sometimes a product changes slightly, or a production run has a defect, and I want to see the latest reviews.

Maybe there is a good reason, but the way it comes across is purely that because the reviews often go into multiple pages, by ordering from good to bad they can make it at a glance look as if a product is better than it is. Considering SF are supposed to be a trade supplier, I find it annoying and insulting to a certain extent that rather than be honest about what people are currently saying about products and tools I rely on to do a job that they structure it in a way to willfully mislead people into thinking some products that aren't that good, or products that used to be good but now aren't, or products that maybe suit DIY but don't work for trade.

2. PhilSo

PhilSo Active Member

Use the SORT BY button.
    Newest to Oldest.

PhilSo

3. Isitreally

Isitreally Well-Known Member

And don't expect to see many bad reviews, they are removed.

4. chippie244

chippie244 Well-Known Member

Only the badly spelt ones :)

DIY womble likes this.
  5. PhilSo

PhilSo Active Member

That'll be yours then.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

PhilSo

Lighten up Chippie.

6. gpierce

gpierce Active Member

Oh I know. It just annoyes me. It’s been a long day and I’m in a complaining mood.

I don’t know if they still do but I remember about 2 years ago, if a product had less than about 2 stars on average, the star rating was completely hidden from the listings until you clicked into the product so that at a glance, every product in a category only had about 2.5 and up.