Shed problems with mould

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Charlotte Eaton, Jan 29, 2021.

1. Charlotte Eaton

Charlotte Eaton New Member

Hi guys, I’m a full on novice with DIY!
    I bought a shed in summer and the last few weeks it’s got insane levels of mould inside! I’ve sprayed it with mould remover for now but I need to know how to stop it altogether. I’m thinking about insulating it to prevent to crazy temp changes as it seems to be causing a lot of condensation. I’ve bought some insulation from Aldi this morning and I plan on covering it with thin sheet wood.

Questions: should I paint the interior shed walls with a waterproof or mould repellent paint before insulating? Should I also then paint the same on the wood once it’s covered? Also, what sort of wood should I use to cover the insulation? Just needs to be super thin but no idea if I’m looking at mdf or plywood???

There’s no obvious leaks although the floor is very wet so I’ve order those plastic honeycomb shed base things to raise it off the floor so I’m hoping that’ll solve the majority of the issues but I just want to prevent it happening again as it’s a major hassle, I have to store my wheelchair and medical equipment in the shed because there’s no room in the flat!! This stuff is pretty expensive and I don’t want it to be ruined by mould/damp
    Any advice will be gratefully received xxx

2. Madeofale

Madeofale Active Member

do you have any pictures of the shed so we can see what sort it is and its construction and how its been installed please

3. Charlotte Eaton

Sorry it keeps coming up with error when I try to add a picture
    It’s a 6x8 apex shiplap shed sitting on paving slabs

4. Charlotte Eaton

EDIT not sure how to edit the actual thread!
    But one of my other concerns is ventilation, if I seal the wood then insulate it and board it up will the lack of ventilation cause problems too?

5. Charlotte Eaton

Ok more questions are popping into my head!!