Single phase and three phase.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by lamello, Mar 21, 2008.

1. lamello

lamello New Member

I rent a council owned industrial unit, I currently have all single phase machines in it (I'm a carpenter/furniture maker). I am pretty clueless when it comes to electrics. I'm looking at a second hand three phase bandsaw. Firstly how do I tell if I have three phase, i'm pretty sure I do, my next door neighbour runs a cnc machine in his. Secondly what would I be looking at appoximately to wire it up?

2. BIG LEROY

BIG LEROY New Member

I rent a council owned industrial unit, well there goes ya profit.

I currently
    have all single phase machines in it (I'm a
    carpenter/furniture maker). I am pretty clueless when
    it comes to electrics. Ya don't say.I'm looking at a second hand
    three phase bandsaw. Firstly how do I tell if I have
    three phase, it won't work with a 13a plug.i'm pretty sure I do, my next door
    neighbour runs a cnc machine in his. Secondly what
    would I be looking at appoximately to wire it up?

3. BIG LEROY

BIG LEROY New Member

I rent a council owned industrial unit, well there goes ya profit.

I currently
    have all single phase machines in it (I'm a
    carpenter/furniture maker). I am pretty clueless when
    it comes to electrics. Ya don't say.I'm looking at a second hand
    three phase bandsaw. Firstly how do I tell if I have
    three phase, it won't work with a 13a plug.i'm pretty sure I do, my next door
    neighbour runs a cnc machine in his. Secondly what
    would I be looking at appoximately to wire it up?

4. Sherlock Ohms

Sherlock Ohms New Member

Nice one Leroy.

Your posting skills are superior to your wit. ;)

5. lamello

lamello New Member