Sliding Wardrobes- does anyone make their own glass doors

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Raymond Donnison, Nov 4, 2018.

1. Raymond Donnison

Raymond Donnison New Member

Hi, I am after some advice please. I currently work in the kitchen trade manufacturing and installing kitchens in my local area. I have my own workshop. I am hoping to also add sliding wardrobes to the services I offer and wondered if there are any sliding wardrobe fitters out there to advise. Do tradesman tend to order sliding doors from suppliers or does anyone cut the glass and make the doors themselves? The cost of the wardrobe doors bought from suppliers, even at discounted prices seems incredably high. I make all the internals myself but would only charge 1k for a 3 doors set up yet the doors come in easily at £700. Just wondering how fitters make their profit and making the doors themselves could be it.

2. mr moose

mr moose Screwfix Select

Sounds like you may be charging too low, mind you it does depend on the area.I hav'nt done one in around 5 years but always bought in from Magnet or b&q etc then it's usually a couple of days for fitting. Why bother going to all that trouble of making when you can buy ready made unless you have a lot to make.

3. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

I get mine made to measure from doors direct and fitting takes a couple of hours.

4. Raymond Donnison

Do you get any trade discount from doors direct?

5. Raymond Donnison

Id like to use "made to measure" so I have a full floor to ceiling door as well as giving my customers and wide choice of colour and style combinations which is why I haven't looked into "off the peg" options. thanks for the suggestions though

6. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

I don't use them enough.

7. mr moose

mr moose Screwfix Select