Small kink in central heating copper pipe

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Scotty24, Aug 20, 2019.

1. Scotty24

Scotty24 New Member

Hi all,

Newbie here.
    Just bought and renovating our house, on lifting and repairing numerous floorboards (as well as access for electrician) we noticed a small kink in the copper pipe for the central heating system (please see attached photo).
    The kinked pipe is not creased and therefore unlikely to encourage a critical stress point, it has also been like this for at least a decade (think that's maybe when central heating was installed).

Was thinking maybe should just get section replaced while have the floor boards up.

The pipe running perpendicular is redundant and shall be getting removed.

Any advice or tips?
    Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

I would replace the damaged section,easy job while you have access.

3. FlyByNight

FlyByNight Screwfix Select

I would get a short repair section installed.

However, I would be more concerned with the joists ... a really rough deep notch cut in the top immediuately above a large hole through the centre and looking at the cables the next joist is going to be similar.

Deleted member 11267 likes this.
  4. Agree with mike and kiab, replace the kinked section and keep an eye on the cables when soldering.

5. furious_customer

furious_customer Screwfix Select

I would be more concerned as to how it got kinked in the first place.
    I am wondering if the pipe that runs above it is being forced down on top of it when the floorboards are back down?

6. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Would that not make a kink in the other pipe as well?

7. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

It always disappoints me to see debris and rubbish left under floorboards by other tradesmen. Shoddy in my opinion.

mcooper2406, Heat, KIAB and 2 others like this.
  8. blarblarblarblar

blarblarblarblar Active Member