Sockets in Garage....

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by MrE, Aug 9, 2019.

1. MrE

MrE New Member

Hi
    Couple of (probably obvious) questions...
    BTW I'm no electrician, so excuse the lingo (and please correct me)

I have a detached single garage, with the lekky coming from the house (from the main board on a 16a breaker). The cable goes from the house under the concrete path to garage. Garage has two double sockets and a strip light (no breaker in garage). Looks like a 2.5mm cable for sockets and 1.5mm cable for light.

1. Is it possible to upgrade to more than 16a (i know i might have to replace the cable)

2. I want two more sockets in the garage (even though i probably won't exceed 16amps with the one or two things to plug in). Is it easy to add them. I know probably not easy to reply without an existing wiring diagram?

3. Metal sockets better? SP or DP or doesn't really matter? there are only plastic ones currently.

4. Does the length from the main board make any difference.

Thanks, appreciate any help.

MrE

Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  2. gas monkey

gas monkey Well-Known Member

mr e first thing need to know is the load then you can work out the cable
    however the lights should be ok as long as 2.5 and 1.5 are seperate

3. MrE

MrE New Member

The load being what i want to run...in Amps? The tricky thing with that (being a non expert) is the start up load. Apparently that's higher than the running load, does that come into calculations?
    Anyway, I think about 12amps to 14Amps, so is that too close to 16Amps?

When you say separate....I'll have to look closer at the junction box where is comes into the garage, as that's a floor level, there is then a plastic conduit going to a socket, then up the wall to the top where the conduit finishes, THEN i see the two cables.

Hope that makes sense?

Thanks

4. Bazza

Bazza Well-Known Member

Let’s go back to basics.

What is the total maximum load going to be?