Sound and thermal insulation quandaries

Discussion in 'Eco Talk' started by Victoria Boome, Nov 15, 2018.

1. Victoria Boome

Victoria Boome New Member

complete novice here, apart from things I’ve read / learnt online...

This year we moved into a bungalow with bedrooms built upstairs (built this way, not converted) and a small (tiny, you have to lay flat) loft space. House was built in the 80’s. It is freezing cold once the heating goes off and retains little heat. Upstairs and downstairs are the same. We have new central heating but it seems like a waste if we can’t retain the heat!

We had the cavity wall checked by companies who do it free etc and whatever type we have in the walls can’t be topped up? Does this sound right?

The house is on a hill so we know there’s a cavity under the floors which probably adds to the cold. It’s unlikely we can afford to do anything about that.

Upstairs all of the rooms have big pitches. Companies who do free loft insulation have said we should install kingspan sheets on top of the pitches and that they don’t insulate from inside the loft into pitches anymore. Opinions on if this would help / is worth losing some head height?

My husband laid some installation in the loft and boarded over it. Doesn’t seem to have made a difference upstairs.

The sound transfer between rooms is terrible! I’ve done a lot of reading into adding acoustic rockwool to the bedroom floor to reduce conversation and tv noise from the room below (we can hear tv and talking word for word). Question - what floor boards should we lay over the rock wool and should we drill the floor boards into the joists or is there another way? Where do we add the acoustic sealant?