SPD Risk Assessment

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by puntoboy, Jul 8, 2020.

1. puntoboy

puntoboy Member

We moved into our new house 6 months ago, a brand new house. I noted that the consumer unit in the house does not have a surge protection device fitted. Having only recently learned about SPDs in consumer units I started researching them.

My understanding on the 18th Edition regulations (which isn't a lot - I'm not an electrician) leads me to believe that an SPD should be fitted unless a risk assessment is carried out showing why one is not required.

In regulation 443.4 of the BS 7671:2018 wiring regulations, it states

‘Protection against transient over voltages shall be provided where the consequence caused by over voltage could:
    (i) result in serious injury to, or loss of, human life, or
    (ii) result in interruption of public services and/or damage to cultural heritage, or
    (iii) result in interruption of commercial or industrial activity, or
    (iv) affect a large number of co-located individuals.

For all other cases, a risk assessment according to Regulation 443.5 shall be performed."

I've checked the paperwork from the sale, including the certificates from the electrical contractor and there is no sign of such a risk assessment. Should there be? As a home owner should I have a copy? I have reached out to the builder and they are looking into it. I'd imagine that they are scrambling trying to find a way to get out of it, if they are of course, required to do so.

2. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

But it then says

except for single dwelling units where the total value of the installation and equipment therein does not justify such protection.

Which, one would imagine, is the category you fall into.

Squashrobinson likes this.
  3. Comlec

Comlec Screwfix Select