Speedfit pipe inserts

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by ajones1722, Apr 20, 2009.

1. ajones1722

ajones1722 New Member

Hello all, newbie here, first post, please be gentle?

I've noticed there are two types of plastic pipe inserts available, the more expensive having 2 rubber rubber 'o' seals. Can anyone offer any advice as to when to use each type? Is there a special application for the ones with the 'o' rings?

thanks in advance..........

2. lightning bolt

lightning bolt New Member

all the same cheap tat use copper like the pros do

3. Captain Leaky

Captain Leaky New Member

Not really, superseal are more expensive. Speedfit is excellent so use it with confidence.

4. ponty 01

ponty 01 New Member

i only ever use hep 2o push fit,never had a problem,so cant comment on other brands

5. tackleburger

tackleburger New Member

According to JG (I called them about this a while ago) you only use the superseal double o ring in their fittings. If you are using their pipe in a compression fiting you must use the plastic gland insert without the o rings.

I use Hep2O you only need one insert for all fittings in fact I roughed out my first all plastic heating system today (customer's choice) using hep with white 10mm tested to 8 bar. I have to say I might do it again. Done properly and tested it is a breeze.

6. tackleburger

tackleburger New Member

Well I am proud of my CC status been trading 3 years now and I rekon I have served my time. Si I herby declare myself a time served CCC.

7. tackleburger

tackleburger New Member

Wrong thread sorry.

8. imran_

imran_ New Member

Yes but the Hep don't have the extra O-ring for a double seal. The superseal inserts will work, but you have to put the olive on before the insert. Of course, always best to use the right one.

9. imran_

imran_ New Member