structual steel calcs

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by lofter, Nov 28, 2003.

1. lofter

lofter New Member

hi,i am going to be doing my own loft conversion , which is not a problem as i do them for a living,what i want to do is my own drawing to save myself architect costs but i need help to get the structual size of the steels i will need,i have heard of a computer program called "super steel" or something similar and was hoping someone could let me know where i could get it from .thanks

2. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

lofter

A computer program alone is not going to help you. You need to have a good understanding of the loading to apply to the beams/columns/joists and how load is distributed over the structure...you then ned to know how to interpret the information..my advice is get the architect or engineer to do it....I am a trained structural engineer and NO i am not interested in doing the work thanks all the same.

3. supersparky

supersparky New Member

and how many other things are you? i thaught you were just a sparks.....now SE aswell!! and ur doin leccy work and ur an SE aint der more money in that?

BR

4. lofter

lofter New Member

thanks anyway "unphased" i do know all the stresses involved inc- joist sizes relevent to the span and how the pitch and length and tile type will affect the size and ub or uv value of steels and their sizes. i could choose the easy route a give a vague drawing to local planning and let them tell me what they want,but it would be handy for me to know so i can do my own drawings in future and save myself from having to hire "architects" who do not have a true understanding of what is involved with this line of work

5. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

LOL...