Stud wall question

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Hammer of the Gods, Dec 11, 2017.

1. Hammer of the Gods

Hammer of the Gods New Member

Hello folks. First time poster, and a newbie to the DIY game.

I'm covering a brick wall in my garage, and wanted to ask if it's best to build the complete stud frame first, and then fix the whole thing to the wall, or is it best to fix it on to the wall bit by bit?

I've already done one wall of the garage using mostly recycled materials, and while it's not pretty (like I said, I'm a newbie and learning as I go), it's insulated and covered. I did that wall by putting the frame onto the wall bit by bit and it was a pain in the ****! Looked online and saw a guy on Youtube doing the frame on the floor in one go and then attaching the whole thing, which seemed easier, but some of the comments were rubbishing this method. What say you good people?

Cheers!

2. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

If its just to "batten out" the wall ready for insulation then a proper stud wall isn't needed. What are you trying to achieve?

3. Hammer of the Gods

Hi Dr. I don't even now what "batten out" means. Told you I'm a newbie!

I'm trying to cover a brick wall inside the garage with insulation and plasterboard. I've done one all already by fixing horizontal and vertical timber lengths to the brick, filling the spaces with insulation slabs, and then covering the whole thing with plasterboard.

4. Dr Bodgit

Dr Bodgit Super Member

I'd say you don't need horizontal and vertical members, just one way, probably horizontally if the 8x4 plasterboard sheets are going vertically. Suggest you use foil back boards, will help keep moisture from penetrating.

Hammer of the Gods likes this.
  5. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Also now a good time to think if ur gonna be hanging anything heavy on these stud walls once completed - shelving / wall units / bike racks / etc