Switches and sockets - Conversion from flush mount to surface mount

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by carlosbeneto, Dec 4, 2020.

1. carlosbeneto

carlosbeneto New Member

Good afternoon everyone!

I'm here looking for suggestions of how to do this in a practical and legal way. I'm not an electrician but I'm fairly well practiced in other fields having done some motorsport wiring and electronics, I'm not overly familiar with residential code though.

The situation is the following. I have a 1G double light switch and a 2G socket units on a wall in the lounge. I'm going to cover this wall with brick slips (20mm thick brick faces cut from real bricks - very thick, irregular tiles effectively).

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Two main questions arise from this. I'm going for an industrial style, and part of the plan is to have surface mount, galvanised boxes for said sockets and switches. So the first question is... What is the best (and legal) way to bring the wires that go into the existing recessed back boxes into the new surface mount ones? Do I take out the existing back boxes and bring the wire through the bricks like in an external install with armormed cable for example? That raises the question of extending the existing wires which I'm sure will be too short.

It's my understanding I can't simply leave the back box and tile over it, I think back boxes are meant to be accessible? Any guidance on how to this neatly and legally is welcome.

For further clarity these are the switches in question:

[​IMG]