Templates for routing recesses for hinges?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by SteveMJ, Jul 16, 2012.

1. SteveMJ

SteveMJ Active Member

Hello,

Sometime in the next few months I'll be replacing about 8 doors.  Is there a short cut for an amateur to cut the recess for the hinges?  If I?m successful I may probably go on to do another 12 or more in another property, here is hoping.

In the past I?ve chiselled these recesses out by hand, with some fiddling about with filler after to correct my lack of skill.  I?ve now got a router (not that I am an expert in using this either) and feel this could lead to a quicker and better job. After the routing I would just clean out the corners of the recess by hand.

Is this a reasonable approach by me? Are there any templates I can make to help me achieve this?  If what would these templates look like and how would I make them?

Thank you yet again for the help.

Steve

2. G Brown

G Brown New Member

Trend do them. You will go through router bits, all in  all a v expensive solution. Just use SHARP chisels.

3. jeznotts

jeznotts Member

hello
    so steve you are not a carpenter, and you admit to your low skill level, so should you really be cutting up peoples expensive doors? i understand that we all have to earn a living and that but going around and looking for advice on very basic carpentry makes me think that you could do a lot of good for yourself by getting some training on how to fit doors properly this by the way would not include any routers, that you can't use anyway!
    just a thought, and good luck as fitting doors has way more  to it than a badly fitted hinge.

4. SteveMJ

SteveMJ Active Member

Hi jeznotts,