The tiling trade

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Tilerwannabe, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Tilerwannabe

Tilerwannabe New Member

Hi guys hope your all keeping well.

I was hoping to pick your brains if i may

Im currently an hgv mechanic, im 36 and feel like i want a change of career, you guessed it, tiling

I have never laid a tile in my life, nor do i know any tilers to ask these questions to, hence why im here. Im from east sussex.

Theres lots of tiling course avaliable promising the world.... surley after "an intensive 10 day course" i wouldnt be ready to start my own company!?

Would you recommend the trade?

Realistic earnings working for someone?

Realistic earnings working for your self?

How long did it take you to feel confident to work on your own?

What negatives do ypu hate about the job?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks chaps.

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

You're getting into it for the wrong reasons reading your post, I suggest phoning some local tilers and asking if you can labour for them part time or when they need you and slowly build up an idea of the job. Or set up a few sheets of plywood in your garage or spare room and have a go at teaching yourself in a situation where there's no risk or pressure. Paying for a tiling course is an utter waste of time and money.

rogerk101 likes this.
  3. Tilerwannabe

Tilerwannabe New Member

Hi jord.

How come the wrong reasons?

I think id enjoy it, i have a perfectionist attitude, can see it having job satisfaction

Also why would a course be a waste of time?

Thanks

4. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select