Tiling - Is this how it should have been done???

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Mel Wardle, Nov 15, 2020.

1. Mel Wardle

Mel Wardle New Member

Our tiler has just left and I am not sure he has done the best job tiling in our bathroom but I’m not an expert so Can you help....

He hasn’t grouted yet just applied the tiles, but on one wall, by the window and then the opposite end of the same wall by the shower cubical, he has used really thin bits of tile - I think it looks awful.

Also the tile cuts in the window are really rough. See pics.... I guess grout will help but should they have been this rough?

Is this bad? what should I do when he comes back tomorrow. To remove the thin bits would mean re doing the whole wall?

Can I have your opinions please?

Attached Files:

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

Why does your link take you to a tile manufacturers unfinished website? Not the best advert for your job.....

If this isn't actually spam, then his tiling isn't bad but unfortunately his setting out leaves a lot to be desired, and he could do with a new wheel for his cutter. To remove the slivers would indeed mean redoing the wall again.

3. Matt78

Matt78 New Member

He obviously did not plan the layout first to avoid having to use thin slithers which yes are an eye sore and completely ruin the overall visual look, also looks like he has cut the tiles with a rusty chainsaw as they should be clean cut where visible because as soon as you grout them the little chips will stick out like a saw thumb.

4. Mel Wardle

Mel Wardle New Member

Jord86 sorry I’m not sure what link you mean? I just uploaded pictures? This isn’t spam!!

thanks for your advice. Do you think I should ask for it to be done again. We have enough tiles.

5. Mel Wardle

Mel Wardle New Member

hi Matt

thanks for your reply. Do you think I should ask him to do that wall again? We have enough tiles

6. rogerk101

rogerk101 Screwfix Select