Tiling on marine ply

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Sidney24, Aug 11, 2010.

1. Sidney24

Sidney24 New Member

Hi,
    I am not a professional tiler but i'm doing a job for a good friend who saw my tiling job in my own bathroom and begged me to do a job for him. I told him that i took ages to tile my bathroom because i was being extra careful and planning for ages before i actually cut a tile or laid down the adhesive. he said he didn't mind how long the job took, as he'd been let down by cowboys and wanted the job done correctly.

Anyway, the tiling job is for a bathroom on the first floor of a residential home for people with learning difficulties. The residents like to splash about in the bath so i thought about waterproofing the floor before i laid the tiles.
    The cowboys had taken up the old floor boards and laid 18 mm ply over the beams (screwed down with 30mm screws here and there - god knows how they didn't hit the pipework underneath...) and they didn't use any noggins so the ply was bending where the plywood pieces met. They attempted to tile straight on this substrate before my friend caught them in time and got rid....
    I used 25mm Marine ply (£50 / 8'x4' sheet!) to re-board the floor. I also bought Wapgum WPS which i'm planning to trowel over the marine ply and the Mapeband tape to waterproof floor and the corners and walls joins as a precaution against water splashed onto the floor.....

Is the tanking of the marine ply "overkill" for a bathroom floor (which isn't going to be totally immersed in water)? i'm worried about the puddles of water resulting from splashed water ingressing to the ply.....
    Is it ok to tile straight over the liquid tanking mapegum using the flexi bagged addy? Or do i need to prime the ply first? Should i use the tape on the plywood joins or just around the room where the floor meets the walls?