Tools to hang heavy mirror

Discussion in 'Tool Talk' started by jam25, Aug 21, 2019.

1. jam25

jam25 New Member

Hi

What kind of tools are best to hang a heavy framed mirror over the fireplace in my living room (16kg)

The wall is an external brick wall with plasterboard on top of it.

The previous owners had a mirror too and left the fixings in there(2 red 6mm rawl plugs)

I hung the mirror on these for now but I am not confident or of knowledge if these are the best. I know that the existing rawl plugs/screws are in the plasterboard and not through the brick.

Would it be advisable to get longer screws and drill into the brick at the back?

The mirror itself looks secure but just want some extra peace of mind as I have no knowledge of these things.

Thanks in advance

2. Mike58

Mike58 Active Member

You are right not top trust what is there and if they are only in the plasterbopard then you have a risk.

16kg is not heavy and only a little more than a large flat screen TV. Is the PB dot and dab with a gap? or screwed flat on?

I personally would get some 50mm long Fischer plugs and some 60mm pan head screws and get right into the brick but make sure you do not penetrate the back of the bricks.

3. jam25

jam25 New Member

Thanks Mike! Your reply confirms my doubts. The mirror is currently hung on two 28mm screws with uno 6mm red rawl plug.

I get on with replacing these with fischer plugs

4. Mike58

Mike58 Active Member

UX 8x50 Item 20669 with some 5mm screws.

Plugs are not cheap, however they are way better than the standard yellow/red/brown type. The only time I now you basic plugs is when fitting electrical back boxes, everything is no UX, SX or Duopower

jam25 likes this.
  5. jam25

jam25 New Member

Thank you! Makes my life easier searching for the right thing

6. Severntrent

Severntrent Active Member

Gripfits

7. DIY0001

DIY0001 Active Member

If you have the setting tool, then these will do the job. Available in different sizes for heavier loads.