TT System

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Jakalama, May 21, 2020.

1. Jakalama

Jakalama New Member

Hi
    New to this forum but hoping someone can help me.
    I’ve been working for myself for 6 months now and never come across a TT system.
    I’ve installed a new consumer unit in a pool plant room (domestic size pool)
    On completion of the work I carried out the testing and all was fine until I got to Zs at DB.
    I got a result of 90 ohms and a fault current of just 2.25A.
    I thought I would test at the main DB thinking the problem was with my installation but I got very similar results testing the main earth. can someone please give me some guidance on what I should be seeing from a TT system for PFC.
    I know resistance should be ideally 21 ohms or below but can be up to 200 albeit unstable. I’ve tested many consumer units and never encountered this issue before.
    Photo of the main DB cupboard incoming supply etc beliw
    Cheers
    Ray

2. Jakalama

Jakalama New Member

3. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

You can't get the Zs low enough in a TT to make it worth bothering with. I've not ever had to work with TT but my understanding is there should be a 100ma time delay RCD protecting the whole installation at the origin. If this CU is feeding equipment for the pool then there are a whole raft of other regs you need to take care of.

Like I say, I'm no expert, but did it not occur to you to at least find out what the earth type was before you started the job? I would have thought it would be the least you could do.

Edit sozza I see it's the PFC your after.

Last edited: May 21, 2020
  4. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

TT earths are poor. This is why 30mA RCDs are so important. 90ohms is not bad tbh. You will rarely, if ever, get a reading off a rod as low as 21 ohms. Ohms Law dictates your PFC. As long as you have a 30mA RCD on your circuits it's fine.

5. Jakalama

Jakalama New Member