Under Floor Heating defaults to on after power cut

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Stephen Bailey, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Stephen Bailey

Stephen Bailey New Member

Electric under floor heating mats were laid in my kitchen two years ago and work fine but for one issue. When the thermostat is in the off mode and there is a power cut, the thermostat will turn on as soon as power is reinstated.

The manufacturers felt it was a fault in the thermostat and provided a replacement but this does exactly the same as the original. So far no one has been able to determine why this is happening albeit they all agree that it should not default to on following a power cut.

Has anyone experienced this issue before and if so do you have any suggestions. I am not an electrician but did build my own house so have some knowledge of electrical wiring but have never carried out any of the electrical work myself believing this to be something that I would rather leave to the experts but on this occasion even they appear baffled.

2. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

You need to speak to the manufacturers of the product. It can not be anything to do with wiring and, tbh, I think it is right that the thing should default to 'on' after a power cut. I think it should also do that if it was already 'on' before the power cut. If it defaulted to 'off' it would be far more of an inconvenience, imho. There must be a relay inside it.

3. Bob Rathbone

Bob Rathbone Active Member

Following a power cut the thermostat will sense the floor has got cold and the contacts will close when the supply resumes, assuming that sufficient time has elapsed.

4. Stephen Bailey