Underfloor heating

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Ianeman, Feb 19, 2022.

1. Ianeman

Ianeman New Member

Hi, hope someone can advise me here, I’m a Brickie by trade so be gentle I’ve had underfloor heating installed throughout the house on a self build project I’ve been doing and over the last few weeks I’ve had it running at 18 Degrees Celsius, just to help everything acclimatise but I’ve noticed parts of the floor at different parts of the house at different times will stay cold. I’ve checked at the manifold and the lower bar with the actuator controls ( wireless Heatmiser system) the pipe for the cold section of floor will be cold even though the system is asking for heat and the actuator is open. Ive tried closing all other zones apart from the cold zone and bleeding that section of pipe by connecting a hose and opening the drain off on the manifold and filling the from the boiler filter loop. But it seems to do the same after a week or so. Could this indicate I have a leak on the system or could it be trapped air? I’ve filled the boiler to 2bar (Worcester greenstar 550 cdi ) this drops to 1.5bar and holds. The manifold is showing just over 1.1 bar, slightly moves up and down depending on temperature I’ve also noticed that sometimes quite often the flow gauges with little glass tops are sticking, once you turn them slightly they drop and start working. The heating engineer who installed the boiler told me it doesn’t need inhibitor because we have no radiators, could this be why it’s sticking? Any help would be much appreciated

2. Teki

Teki Screwfix Select

It might be easier if you used paragraphs and punctuation to split up your text.

At the moment it's difficult to read and almost like a brain dump!

I stopped reading after underfloor heating and Heatmiser system.

E.L.M likes this.
  3. koolpc

koolpc Super Member

You could get a second opinion by calling in a different engineer to check the problem.

4. Mike83

Mike83 Screwfix Select