Untanked bathroom tiles

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Chai_wallah, Dec 2, 2019 at 12:58 PM.

1. Chai_wallah

Chai_wallah New Member

Hello, I have been reading through the forum and really wish I’d found this resource a couple of weeks ago!
    Our bathroom needed updating. We wanted to try to save money, do what we could and get help from the pros when necessary (I am an absolute amateur as will become apparent).
    I gutted the bathroom and had some pipes refitted. A friend then replastered the walls. I was going to get someone to partially tile around the bath/over bath shower and the floor as it seemed complicated. Found a tiler who was about to go on holiday. He installed the bath and told me if I wanted to get on with it all I had to do was add PVA to the walls then adhesive then carefully tile then grout.
    Then I found this forum. Turns out PVA is a no no. So I swapped for Bal primer. Applied this to the walls then adhesive then tile. No grout yet.
    Now I realise that best practice would be to waterproof the area before tiling. Do I need to pull it all down and start again with waterproof kit, backer board, adhesive the. tile or will the current set up last?
    Really sorry for the long intro. Any advice gratefully recieved...thanks

2. rogerk101

rogerk101 Well-Known Member

You've gone so far that you might as well finish it off with the grout and grout sealer.
    If it fails in a few years time, then you're back to ripping it all off and starting again. However, if you do a good job of grouting and then apply several coats of grout sealer, the chances are that minimal water will make its way behind the tiles.