Upvc casement window glass replacement - too small?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by G9_, Aug 28, 2020.

?

Would you pay for this?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. G9_

G9_ New Member

Hi all,

Had the glass replaced in my bathroom casement window by a professional window fitter who tells me that the installation is a success and that the "cosmetic" appearance does not effect the performance of the window and that the window itself is an top quality acoustic glass, silicone bonded with a swiss spacer.

I'm not a professional but the glass clearly looks too small, I can clearly see the aluminum spacer (I'm sure this is not a swiss spacer), I can see black tape along the top edge and I'm convinced that it will not perform as well as properly installed glass with the swiss spacer technology.

Can you guys let me know your opinion? If a professional window fitter can confirm on the spacer question that would be great!

Cheers!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Hard to tell in the photo - but that's tape running along the top edge

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. jonathanc

jonathanc Guest

Don’t pay

not measured correctly. Installer needs to try again.

swiss technology or not it don’t matter if it’s the wrong size which it is

3. sparky steve

sparky steve Screwfix Select

+1
    Also noticed beading not replaced satisfactorily,

Attached Files:

gadget man, G9_ and Muzungu like this.
  4. G9_

G9_ New Member

Thanks JonathanC - would you think it is a swiss spacer or just aluminium?

5. Muzungu

Muzungu Screwfix Select

Last edited: Aug 28, 2020
    G9_ likes this.
  6. jonathanc

jonathanc Guest

No idea whether Swiss or not but it don’t fit.

I’m now on to replacing my third sealed unit here and trust me I would not do the job myself like that. It’s worse than amateurish

gadget man and G9_ like this.
  7. Hi,