using postcrete

Discussion in 'Landscaping and Outdoors' started by hollyb96, Nov 8, 2019.

1. hollyb96

hollyb96 Member

i am currently building a deck and today dug all the holes for the footings. I dug them 85cm deep and 20cm wide. My plan is to add gravel at the bottom for better drainage and then fill the hole completely with concrete. Then once its dry screw in a galvanised post base for the posts to sit on.
    My issue is that i have never worked with concrete before. I have done research and i think postcrete seems to be the easiest option. After doing research though i have found that i will probably need more than one bag per hole (especially because theres not going to be an actual post in the concrete). My questions are:
    I have seen someone adding bricks to the hole so that they dont have to use as much concrete, i dont have any brick but i do have loads of bigger and smaller boulders/stones that i have dug up with the post holes. Could i use them instead? What sort of sizes shall i use, what is too big? How many can i add to each hole?Also when i add them do i add them to the hole first or add them once the postcrete has been poured in?
    Secondly, if i need to use more than one bag (which i probably will have to) how to i do that? Do i add the first bag with the right amount of water and then do the second bag while its still wet or do i wait for it to dry and come back and do the next bag the next day? Also if it takes 1 1/2 bags, how do i know how much more it will need in the hole and how much water to add? Thanks

2. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select