Variable Drip Swan Neck Kitchen Tap

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Michael....., Jan 2, 2021.

1. Michael.....

Michael..... New Member

Hi. I'm new to Swan neck kitchen taps and coming to terms with the fact they drip after use for a bit. But sometimes they drip every 4 seconds for a long time. I removed the Swan neck and could see that no water was flowing so the hot and cold levers and ceramic cartridges are doing their job. But I don't understand why sometimes the tap will drip constantly for a long time (I've not tested for how long) and Other times when you turn off the tap/s it only drips once or twice and then about a tablespoon overnight. Is it condensation in the tap because I've noticed that it is worse when the outside of the Swan neck has condensation on it following running very cold water through a previously hot tap, or another explanation. Any advice would be great. Taps are Cooke & Lewis 58A Deck-Mounted Dual-Lever Bridge Mixer Kitchen Tap Chrome

2. quasar9

quasar9 Screwfix Select

All ceramic cartridges drip after a few months use and it seems to depends on how much how much fine dirt there is in the water and the hardness of the water. It’s the design in my view. Conventional taps screw down the seal and can exert considerable force and adjust for wear on the washer. Quarter turn ceramic rely on the ceramic face being kept clean by rubbing action of the ceramic and there is no allowance for wear.

it’s easy enough to replace the cartridge.

talking of swan necks, again it relies on a few o rings and plastic rings which will wear out after 5 or 6 years. I have seen a 10 year old which had practically worn away the metal and could not be repaired

Last edited: Jan 2, 2021
  3. Michael.....

Michael..... New Member