Victorian Garden Wall pillars

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Ben Miners, Jun 13, 2018.

1. Ben Miners

Ben Miners New Member

Hi. I am wanting to build a traditional victorian style wall similar to the following using flemish bond. My question is does anyone know how to create the types of pillars you see on the wall, and if so does anyone have any tutorials on how you do this? I suppose I am stuck on how you create these types of pillars but also how you connect them to the wall? Sorry if I am being stupid but this is my first time building something like this. Many Thanks for your help.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/36671411@N06/27901167857/in/dateposted-public/

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

See page 11 & 12 of this link,might be useful your going to have fun with it,it will have you pulling your head out.

https://www.slideshare.net/SahilPahal/brick-walling-and-joints

Work it out dry courses first & second, then draw it onto paper,or take photo's, it's all too easy to go out of bond with headers,queen closers, halfs & quarters.:D

When you take down old walls with flemish bond, it's a work of art, how they did the bonds,for piers & intersections,seen it were one brick had a clipped corner on one course.

Also see pages 20-22 of this link.

https://www.slideshare.net/munawar164164/lecture-2-brickbrick-masonary-and-manufacturing-of-bricks

[​IMG]

stuart44 likes this.
  3. stuart44

stuart44 Screwfix Select

If you want to build a 9 inch thick wall in Flemish bond with piers 18 inches long the bottom pic is close to want you want for the correct bonding. First course is a 3/4 on each end of the pier and then a header in the centre to tie in.
    Next course is header on each end of the pier to tie in and stretcher in the centre of the pier.
    Most bricklayers would probably just do it as in your photo to save cutting 3/4's, the bond on that wall is really Flemish Garden Wall bond.

Jord86 and KIAB like this.
  4. Ben Miners

Ben Miners New Member