weighty force

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Shake, Jul 7, 2005.

1. Shake

Shake New Member

I am a lorry driver and at work we have to move pallets of goods that weigh over 1 tonne. Some people find this difficult.

The manager has stated that it requires 29 kilograms to move a 1 tonne pallet on a level surface so should not present a problem to the average person.

What is confusing me is that I thought that a force was needed to move an object and 29 kilograms is just a weight.

Could some kind engineer explain this to me.

Where

2. Shake

Shake New Member

Sorry should have said we use a hand pallet truck (aka pump truck)

3. Hi Shake, what you have to imagine is your pallet truck on the bed of your lorry with a rope attached to the handle. This rope passes over a pulley at the end of the lorry and dangles down towards the ground. This rope has 29 kilograms fixed to it. This should be enough force to start the pallet truck moving. Force is usually expressed in Newtons. Mass is usually expressed in kilograms. One Kilogram is roughly equal to 10 Newtons at sea level, but gets progressively smaller as you gain altitude. Back in the real world, common sense says that shifting a tonne of stuff by hand by yourself would be hard work. What about stopping it at the bottom of the slope, just before it crushes you up against the wall?

4. Tangoman

Tangoman Well-Known Member

Bit of a daft statement by your manager.

The force required to move it is going to be dependant on the friction between the pallet and the surface it is on. ALthough this is related to it's weight, the nature of the surface, and the surface area of the base of the pallet is going to be just as important.

So a pallet with 6 3" wide planks on the bottom would be much harder to move than one with just 3 3" wide planks.

Furthermore I would imagine the problem relates to the ergnomics of the situation.