What cable to make a longer custom extension lead

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by pauler, Aug 10, 2013.

1. pauler

pauler New Member

What cable should I use to make a custom 4 way extension lead to run from house to shed?

Would this be ok?
    http://www.screwfix.com/p/3-core-reel-flexible-cable-white-1-5mm-x-15m/47395

All the extensions we have seem to be 1.25mm so presumably 1.5mm is also ok?

Would run along house and then underground in some tubing to power a lamp, a printer and a fan heater during the winter.

Many thanks in advance.

2. sparky Si-Fi

sparky Si-Fi Screwfix Select

:eek: Oh dear

No mate, cant just bodge a supply to an outbuilding

Its been done to death on here, search and ye will find

*** dont do, what you intend to do

3. pauler

pauler New Member

Yep I searched but i'm no electrician as you can tell and it all seemed a bit technical.

So say I wanted to power the lamp, a printer and a fan heater in the study indoors. I could plug them into a 4 way extension lead right?

Or I could sit in the garden with my lamp, a printer and a fan heater plugged into a 4 way?

So whats the difference in running the 4 way to a shed?

Please help me to understand the reasoning why. I obviously dont want to knowingly do anything stupid which is why I asked originally but I'm just inquisitive as to why it shouldn't be done.

Thanks.

4. Lokkars Daisy

Lokkars Daisy New Member

pauler,  an extension lead out to your shed isn't the best way to do it as no doubt you understand.
                 There is no specific reason why you shouldn't do but bear in mind
    A flexible cord is subject to damage whilst lying out doors
    1.5 mm cable has a limited carrying capacity but will probably handle what you require it for. (if it works in the house it will work in the shed)