Whatever happened to Part P?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by tired of it all, Jan 11, 2010.

1. tired of it all

tired of it all New Member

Evening all! Although I have been reading this forum with great interest for some years, I have just registered and this is my first post. I was prompted to come on because everyone has lately gome quiet on the subject of Part P. Why is this? Is it just accepted as an Act of God, about which nothing can be done, or are electricians simply choosing to ignore it? I have been an NICEIC Approved Contractor for years, but I have now have serious doubts about them; they seem to have gone from an industry "standard" to a blatantly commercial organisation since 2005. I have also rarely met a client who has any idea what Part P is about. I am thinking of resigning my enrolment, and while this would make no difference to my commercial work, I'm not sure how I could avoid paying large sums to Building Control to notify work. Comments?

2. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

Hi mate

Are you self-employed? Nothing has happened to Part P as far as I can see. Its still the same. Nobody has a clue what it is and customers couldn't care less. That's about it really. Not going to stop me being registered though. NAPIT are a decent bunch. Nobody has ever heard of them and customers couldn't care less. Nope. Nowts changed really.

:)

3. tired of it all

tired of it all New Member

I'm still self-employed after all these years! I've just called Napits and they want £300 = VAT for a years membership. One inspection visit a year, one site only required and that can be a Periodic or work in my own house. (These are for transfers from other schemes, not sure about new applicants).
    In all the years that i have been NICEIC approved, I can honestly say that none of my work was a result of my approval; few of my clients, domestic or commercial, had even heard of them. None of then in recent years know anything about Part P either.