What's all this FENSA b******s about?????

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by bighairybloke, Dec 6, 2004.

1. bighairybloke

bighairybloke New Member

I normally lurk around in the sparky's forum as that's more my area of interest, but i've heard a few things that worry me slightly.
    Mainly that only FENSA people are allowed to fit replacement windows now. I used to work as a bench joiner, and have made and fitted all my own hardwood windows. Building control did not seem to have any problem with this.
    Is there any truth in this? If there is, it's a load of b****s!!!! The only possible time I can see there being any problem with anybody fitting a window is if they make the opening wider and leave the lintel sat on nothing, or fit a replacement lintel that's not big enough. Seeing as I'm probably better qualified than most FENSA people to do the structural calcs on the lintel, this seems a bit silly.

2. bighairybloke

bighairybloke New Member

One other thing just came to mind. If you rip out a timber window that was load bearing and replace it with a crappy plastic one that's about as structural as a blancmange as supplied by most FENSA people, you could have big problems! Again, not a problem I will ever have. If I ever fit a plastic window, I will claim deminished responsibility due to insanity!

3. Mr GrimNasty

Mr GrimNasty Active Member

Any windows/doors replaced up to April 2002 do not require BCO inspection/approval. After that date, if the entire door/window is replaced (i.e. not just glass, or frame repair etc.) BCO approval (about 70 quid)is required for DIY installations (FENSA installers automatically give approval). Part L (mainly) I think applies. You need safety glass in specified areas, effective means of escape, protection from falling, to prove your d/g units are efficient enough with regards to heat loss, lintels checked/suitable etc. etc. etc. Yes it's just another money making bs scam!

4. Mr GrimNasty