which sliding mitre saw?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by spiderpig, Dec 23, 2005.

1. spiderpig

spiderpig New Member

bit of a tall order this - I need a sliding mitre saw capable of compound cuts, with a depth lock (spindle lock?) suitable for cutting tenons and trenching. I think it's called. I'm not a professional (there's a surprise!) so I can't justify spending much more than around 150 quid. I know thats not much of a budget but the coffers are a bit empty right now. I was looking at the Rexon one (£150)that screwfix do, and also the Erbauer. Above all, I need the thing to cut accurately!

Any suggestions would be very grateful.
    Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas! bbb.

2. Bob Property

Bob Property New Member

I don't think accurate and £150 go together when talking sliding mitre saws. How accurate do you need it? What is it for? There was a post about saws only a few back. Do a search on this forum, it has been discussed before. And before you ask I've got a Lecky Beckum 255 because it does the trenching, but it was a bit more than £150.

3. spiderpig

spiderpig New Member

many thanks, and I take your point.. I've had a look on this forum and found quite a bit on the subject so will go from there.

Merry Christmas!

4. two by one

two by one New Member

And before you ask I've got a Lecky
    Beckum 255 because it does the trenching, but it was
    a bit more than £150.

How are you getting on with it? I looked at these as they seemed like a reasonable alternative to the DW707. That is compact, not too heavy with a good depth of cut. I guess the trenching could be handy for shelving and the like.

5. Bob Property

Bob Property New Member