Wiring for a new boiler via a three pin plug?

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Nickam, Dec 29, 2009.

1. Nickam

Nickam New Member

Just returned from visiting my brother-in-law. He has had a new boiler fitted and the plumber has left it in a bit of a mess. He has also connected the boiler electricaly by putting a plug on the end of the cable from the boiler and just plugging it into a nearby three pin socket. Now, as far as plumbing goes, I'm an amateur. I would though have wired it into a fused spur unit adjacent to the boiler. I'm guessing that the reson he's done that is because he's not a sparks so technically hes' not allowed to do the electrics and doesn't want to employ a sparks to do it. Am I right in my assumption?
    Cheers,
    Nick

[Edited by: admin]

2. Itandje

Itandje New Member

There's nothing wrong with a plug as long as it's got a 3 amp fuse and is close to the boiler. It should be an unswitched socket though if you want to be picky.
    You're probably right about why he's done it though.

3. Tony Soprano

Tony Soprano New Member

You can wire it into FCU no problems because it wont be for reward

The plug with 3 amp fuse in an unswitched socket is perfectly fine

Now if he isn't a part p qualified sparky and there wasn't a spur there already then he did what was correct

Carry on with your drawings and leave the plumbing to the plumbers!:d

4. G Brown

G Brown New Member

Plugs are OK.

5. tackleburger

tackleburger New Member

I thought a switched socket was good too as long as it was double pole?

6. steve CF

steve CF New Member

what if the thermostat cable is buried into the plaster is RCD protection required or not ? even if its till connected via a plug.

7. Tony Soprano

Tony Soprano New Member

channces are if its on new combi then it will be volt free switching on the stat

8. Itandje

Itandje New Member

I thought a switched socket was good too as long as it was double pole?