Worktop Jig

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by Julian1, Jan 2, 2006.

1. Julian1

Julian1 New Member

Guys

I need to shape a worktop using a jig but I have never done this before. Can anyone please give me some pointers of what to do and in which order.
    I have used a router before but not on a worktop with a jig.

Many thanks for your help.

2. dirtydeeds

dirtydeeds New Member

julian, jigs come with instuction books.

IF youve never done it, read it, unless of course you want to buy the worktops twice

its all to do with the direction of cut, one side of each joint is from the top the other from the bottom.

i cant tell which is which cos i do it automatically.

do it a few times and you will be the same

3. Jim

Jim Guest

4. Duke

Duke New Member

Make sure your cutter is at it's best. Laminate will take the edge off the blade very quickly, and a dull edge will easily chip the surface.

Personally I usually do 1 kitchen fit and then change or hone the blade. I have a cutter with replaceable blades though which work out a lot cheaper. £5 on a blade is well worth it considering the price of most kitchen-fits.

5. mailee

mailee New Member

Hi Julian1. You may find this site useful: http://www.raygirling.co.uk/wtjig.htm As for the cutters I use the Freud pro ones at around £12 each, they usually last between two to four joints with me I then discard them to more menial tasks around the workshop and buy new ones. Remember to take light cuts and don't try to hurry the process. It is better to take your time than ruin £50 plus of worktop. Also watch out for B&Q's worktops I have had some problems with them recently like blown postform edges which chip like hell. Hope this helps mate.

6. Julian1

Julian1 New Member

Guys

Thanks a lot for all your help, I feeel more confident to tackle the job now.....cheers

7. Mr Mike

Mr Mike New Member

8. oddsocks

oddsocks New Member