Worst bodge DIY JOB?

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by 24 hr locksmith, Jan 8, 2006.

1. 24 hr locksmith

24 hr locksmith New Member

what's the worst bodge you've ever come across or done yourself? I am a carpenter and locksmith and was recently asked to look at a bathroom wall that needed new plasterboard. On removing the horrible 80's patterned hardboard I found plasterboard on top of hardboard on top on plasterboard and so on for 7 layers. After removing all these layers and completing the job the bathroom was a foot wider!

2. Jonny Round Boy

Jonny Round Boy New Member

1st house I bought (in about 97, I think) - it was a DIY nightmare. Previous owner had tried to 'improve' the property at some point. The bathroom was a good example.

Virtually every single floorboard had been taken up, then put back badly - the floor was like an assault course! To try and remedy the situation, they'd nailed 2 layers of hardboard over the top to 'smooth it out'.
    It was then tastefully finished off with a nice light grey carpet, which, in a novel feature, also ran up the side and end of the bath!

Above the bath was an electric shower - the water pipe to it was surface mounted, diagonally, to the wall (which, by the way, was not tiled, or in any way water resistant, just wallpapered). The shower unit itself was only about 500mm up from the top edge of the bath itself. The power to it came from a 2.5mm cable, again surface mounted, and with most of the insulation burnt!

Suffice to say I didn't bother to try it out - I ripped it out within 12 hours of moving in.

As an aside, when the survey was done, the surveyor pointed out that the above 'may need some attention'!!!

3. owen

owen New Member

House i'm in the process of renovating. Bathroom has a step down into it. Stripping the bathroom today, thought i might as well get the step out of the way.