Advice please

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Andrew Samworth, Mar 22, 2016.

1. Andrew Samworth

Andrew Samworth New Member

Hi

Novice here, I re-grouted shower area in bathroom. there is some excess grout on some tiles, I wondering what is the best method to remove ? I guess I'm looking for a plastic scraper that wont damage the tiles ?

Cheers

2. What type of grout - a ready-mixed tub, or a powder you mixed with water?

3. Andrew Samworth

I used unibond ready mix grout

4. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Guess as a shower they're glazes tiles so shouldn't be stuck too firmly

Try a paint scraper, type with a Stanley blade for removing spots of paint off a window

Do you have or can borrow a wallpaper steamer, if so use the small area attachment and give the excess grout a steam then a scrape

Bit of elbow grease and a good wash down and should be fine

Remember next time to clean as you go and use a grout sponge

Great for polishing up grout as setting and leaving nice and smooth then flip over sponge and it has a nylon surface like a pan scoured. Removes excess before setting

Good luck

5. I wouldn't use a metal scraper as it can scratch the ceramic, and it'll also leave dark grey marks on the porcelain which are a pain to remove.

Lucky it was ready-mixed stuff as this is easier to remove. I think Dave's idea of a steamer is good - use a narrow nozzle and play the jet over the bits of grout whilst scraping it off with a piece of hard plastic or possibly even a bit of wood (with a sharp corner).

Once the bulk has been removed, then Jif or similar on a cloth should clean up the smears.

Hopefully.

If the tiles are other than shiny-smooth-glazed ceramic, take more care.

6. Andrew Samworth

Thanks for the replies and advice guys. I picked up a plastic scraper in paint section at a DIY store at the weekend and was able to remove the dried grout with no damage to the tiles and it, a little bit of time\patience and it tidied up the job nicely.