Applying plaster for smooth finish to a bricked & vented in fireplace.

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Doneil Macleod, Aug 19, 2014.

1. Doneil Macleod

Doneil Macleod New Member

Advice please! I have bricked in a fireplace in our kitchen (1880's Edinburgh flat), leaving a concrete and brick, uneven finish. I want to build out to a smooth plaster finish. My question is should I apply a PVA solution (when, and how much?), and can I build out uneven surface with undercoat plaster and then apply a smooth finish? I am not a builder/plasterer by profession/trade, but okay with the skill side, however, no real knowledge on timing between coats, previous work is okay, but I do need advice on the building out to make surface more level. Many thanks.

2. What plaster thickness are you talking about?

If you are new to this, and this is pretty much a one-of job, then you might be better off using one of these 'one-coat' plasters which can be applied pretty thickly, up to a good 10mm (although the thinner it's applied, the easier it will be to handle.)

Is this an internal area or external? If the latter, consider fitting plastic edging beads down the external corners to guide you.

PVA probably not needed - just make sure that the surface is not excessively absorbent; try a light water spray and see if the bricks, for example, immediately soak up the water whilst the mortar lines remain shiny, or vice versa. It can be a pain if one part really soaks up water when other bits don't - you'll find the plaster will dry in matching blocks...

If the bricks are just a wee bit absorbent, then simply lightly dampen the whole surface with your trigger spray before applying the skim.