Buying a mitre saw

Discussion in 'Tool Talk' started by Kathy, Apr 17, 2015.

1. Kathy

Kathy New Member

Hi, I am new to carpentry having left college. On our wood machining course all the machines were enormous so know little about site equipment. I am now looking to buy small economic equipment for mainly home jobs so light use. Can't afford any of the big brands. I want to make some cupboards and need a mitre/chop saw. Seen one Blackspur mitre saw almost new but not expensive on the web. Any views? Thanks

2. darren jackson

darren jackson Active Member

with tools you have to pay for quality,
    we have all tried buying cheap but it just means buying twice,
    its hard when you first start out,
    ive never come across the make,
    sorry would love to say yeah there great,
    but experience tells me it will let you down

Kathy likes this.
  3. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

Blackspur are very cheap and nasty, if you buy a cheap saw it probably wont be accurate which makes it pointless.
    I would look on fleabay for a De Walt, Makita or Bosch.

Kathy likes this.
  4. Big Dunk

Big Dunk Active Member

Blackspur is one of the many companies that do not actually make anything, like many they just but in cheap Chinese stock and rebrand it with there own logo such as silverline, rolson and the likes.
    I'd advise you save up a bit more and buy a decent one, at the minimum start out with the evolution range and work up when that gives in. Buy a sliding mitre saw though as I guarantee if you don't you will be wanting one the more you use a non sliding one.

Kathy likes this.
  5. Kathy

Kathy New Member

Thanks Guys for your advice, think I will just hold out for something better and maybe a sliding one too. Just bought a draper hobby table saw second hand. I think it may fall apart before it rips its first plank!! ooops

Gatt likes this.