ceiling heating thermostat problems

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Nyall Spurling, Jan 18, 2015.

1. Nyall Spurling

Nyall Spurling New Member

Hi I am new to this so bear with me :).
    I have ceiling heating in my house which I am in the process of removing in time but for now two of the thermostats have broken I was wondering if anyone could help me source some new ones. Im not sure what to replace them with. The ones that are in there at the moment are honeywell 240v rated at 20amps. Hope someone can help.

2. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

I had to replace some of these a while ago for a customer and I had trouble finding 20 amp rated ones so I linked a stat. out and done a current test and found it was well under 16 amps so I fitted normal Honeywell ones. Do check the current draw though just in case you have higher rated elements!

3. Nyall Spurling

Sounds like a good idea can I check the amps with a digital multimeter and which wires do I test it with

4. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

You need to test AC amps but most of the smaller/cheaper digital meters don't have a range for that. If yours does have an AC amps range just connect one meter lead to one of the stat. wires and the other one to the other stat. wire.

5. Nyall Spurling

Thanks very much for your help. Is there ome on the screwfix website you could recommend me tp buy to test this. I could do with a multimeter for some other work I do.

6. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

Screwfix 48905 Philex multimeter.
    This one does AC current up to 20 amps.
    They do list a cheaper one but it doesn't have an AC current range.

FatHands likes this.
  7. Allybally

Allybally Member

8. seneca

seneca Screwfix Select

That should do the job ok.

9. Nyall Spurling

Thanks for that turns out theres a shop just down the road that sells them. Cheers guys

10. Nyall Spurling