chipboard floors and new regs!

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by oh shit, Jan 20, 2008.

1. oh shit

oh shit New Member

hi chaps, new to this site, long term sparks domestic like but only prop qualified past 2 year. Most of my domestic is floor boards. just tackled chipboard. Holy jesus. With all the new regs etc iv been considering getting out anyhow (i used to work in IT) but this suff is a joke. I'm sure you have argued both subjects before but I know a good electrical wholesaler that has told me of many guys leaving the industry. big shame but i can understand it. Guess it leaves mor work for you die hard's hey. :>)

2. unphased

unphased Screwfix Select

Absolutely no idea wot yer on about mate but, hey ho!

3. stranger101

stranger101 New Member

I agree chipboard floors are a pain in the ****.
    Only way to deal with them is a circular saw but watch out for pipes.

4. sparky Si-Fi

sparky Si-Fi Screwfix Select

Chipboard floors

Once you finnaly get 'em up after half of it falls to bits,they never are the same again,squeak and squeel under foot

There cheap nasty and used far too much

Bring back floorboards but its all about cost and how quick you can get em down

Could use a circular hole cutter (very good but watch your wrists do not snap) with the blanks

5. Could use a circular hole cutter (very good but watch
    your wrists do not snap) with the blanks

I am a fan of these.
    Saves much time and many a noggin.
    :)

6. seneca2

seneca2 New Member

Circular saw set to no more than the depth of the board. (pipes!)

7. Rabbit Rabbit

Rabbit Rabbit New Member

Chipboards are a bit of a pain only in as much of the make good work that is required and theer are some regulation issues.

To cut, as mentioned above set depth of skill saw and rip it up, easy.

Do what electrical work you must.