Dc circuit

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Drew shepherd, Oct 18, 2016.

1. Drew shepherd

Drew shepherd New Member

I wonder if some one can help me with daughters physics homework, we are struggling a bit.
    We have a diagram of a 12volt circuit with a battery at the bottom, from the positive side goes up to a motor then round to a lamp then back down to the negative side of the battery.
    The question is, if the voltage at the terminals of the lamp is 6.5 volts what is the voltage at the terminals of the motor.
    I thought it would be 5.5volts, the motor taking 5.5 and leaving the 6.5 volts at the lamp. My first thought was it should be 12volt through the whole circuit but if it's only 6.5 volts at the lamp it can't be.
    Any pointers gratefully received.
    Thanks

2. PaulBlackpool

PaulBlackpool Screwfix Select

The lamp acts as a resistance reducing the voltage available for the motor . I think that the answer is 6.5 volts.
    I am a retired accountant by the way!

3. Lectrician

Lectrician Screwfix Select

5.5v. Everything is in series, so the voltage will be different to each item, but the current the same.

4. PaulBlackpool

PaulBlackpool Screwfix Select

5. Drew, you are right - it's 5.5V across the motor.

That's the important term here - ACROSS. Voltages are always measured across two points.

The battery is at 0V at the -ve end (not really, but hey...*) and the +ve end is at 12V. When you measure across the battery, you therefore measure the difference between the two terminals = 12V.

In a series circuit like wot you have here, the voltage will drop across any resistance in that circuit - starting from 12V and ending at 0V - so the votages must add up to 12V in total.

If the lamp has 6.5V across it, then the motor will have the remaining = 5.5V

(By the way, that means that the lamp has a slightly greater resistance than the motor. The greater the resistance of an object in a circuit, the greater the voltage across it.)